



2025 Barracuda Championship (34th of 36 FedExCup Regular Season events)

Truckee, California

July 17-20, 2025

FedExCup Points: 300 (winner)

Tahoe Mountain Club (Old Greenwood)

Par/Yards: 35-36—71/7,480

Purse: \$4 million / \$720,000

Pre-Tournament Information – 2025 Barracuda Championship

# Player Interviews (all times local) Wednesday, July 16

After 7:11 a.m. (9-hole) Pro-Am - Nick Dunlap

\*Visit pgatourmedia.com for the latest interview schedule

#### **Nick Dunlap**

- Won the 2024 Barracuda Championship with a two-point margin of victory over runner-up Vince Whaley, marking his second PGA TOUR title in his 21<sup>st</sup> career start
- Last year, entered the final round positioned T13 (+30), nine points behind 54-hole leader Mac Meissner; recorded bogey-free final round, including six birdies in the first 12 holes, and totaled 19 points to finish with +49
- Became the first player in TOUR history to win as an amateur (2024 American Express) and professional (2024 Barracuda Championship) in the same season
- Following his win last year, climbed to No. 63 in the FedExCup standings, helping him become one of four rookies to earn a spot in the 2024 FedExCup Playoffs (others: Matthieu Pavon, Max Greyserman, Jake Knapp)
- Winner of the Arnold Palmer Award as the 2024 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year
- In 19 starts this season, owns three top-25 finishes (best: T10/Sony Open in Hawaii)
- Enters the week No. 124 in the FedExCup standings

#### **Max Homa**

- Third career tournament appearance and first since 2017
- First start on TOUR since a T5 at the John Deere Classic, his best finish and only top-10 in 17 starts this season
- Enters the week No. 98 in the FedExCup; the top 70 players at the conclusion of the Wyndham Championship in three weeks will qualify for the FedEx St. Jude Championship

## **Modified Stableford scoring:**

- Since 2012, the Barracuda Championship has been played using Modified Stableford scoring
- The scoring system allocates points based on the number of strokes taken at each hole, with the goal of achieving the highest overall number of points
- Modified Stableford scoring:

Double eagle: +8 points

Eagle: +5 points
Birdie: +2 points
Par: 0 points
Bogey: -1 point

Double bogey or worse: -3 points

• In the Modified Stableford format at the Barracuda Championship, Erik van Rooyen holds the 72-hole scoring record of +50 (2021) and S.Y. Noh recorded the best 18-hole score of +23 (R1/2023)

## **Barracuda Championship notes:**

- The Barracuda Championship is the 34<sup>th</sup> of 36 FedExCup Regular Season events with just three weeks remaining until the start of the FedExCup Playoffs
- As part of the Strategic Alliance between the PGA TOUR and the DP World Tour, the Barracuda Championship
  features a field of 156 players including 50 players from the DP World Tour with the winner receiving benefits on
  each Tour:

- o FedExCup points: 300
- o PGA TOUR exemption (for current PGA TOUR members): thru 2027
- o **PGA TOUR exemption (for non-members):** thru 2026
- O DP World Tour Rankings points: 585
- O DP World Tour exemption: thru 2027
- Since changing to Modified Stableford scoring in 2012, seven players have earned their first PGA TOUR title at the Barracuda Championship: Akshay Bhatia (2023), **Erik van Rooyen** (2021), Richy Werenski (2020), Collin Morikawa (2019), **Andrew Putnam** (2018), Chris Stroud (2017), Greg Chalmers (2016)
- New in 2024 and continuing this year, the tournament elected to switch the nines at Old Greenwood with two par 5s (Nos. 11 and 15) and a drivable par-4 (No. 17) on the tournament's closing stretch
- Five past champions of the Barracuda Championship in the field: **Nick Dunlap** (2024), **Chez Reavie** (2022), **Erik van Rooyen** (2021), **Andrew Putnam** (2018), **Scott Piercy** (2011)
- Highest ranked player in the field: Davis Riley (No. 65 in the Official World Golf Ranking)
- Highest FedExCup ranking of any player in the field: **Ryan Gerard** (No. 42)
- Seven of the 10 players who finished T8 or better last year are in the field this week: Nick Dunlap (Won), Vince Whaley (2<sup>nd</sup>), Patrick Fishburn (3<sup>rd</sup>), Mac Meissner (4<sup>th</sup>), Patrick Rodgers (T5), Hayden Buckley (7<sup>th</sup>), Rico Hoey (T8)
- In nine career starts in the Barracuda Championship, **Patrick Rodgers** owns nine made cuts and three top-10 finishes, including one runner-up (T5/2024, P2/2023, 3<sup>rd</sup>/2015)
- Mark Hubbard, who made his first PGA TOUR start at the 2013 Barracuda Championship (MC), is making
  his ninth career appearance in the event; finished T17 or better each of the past three years (T17/2024,
  T10/2023, 4<sup>th</sup>/2022)
- 28 players in the field at the Barracuda Championship competed at last week's Genesis Scottish Open, including five that made the cut: Yannik Paul (T43), Sam Bairstow (T65), Dale Whitnell (T65), Jacques Kruyswijk (T65), Ryan Gerard (74<sup>th</sup>)
- 99 players in the field at the Barracuda Championship competed at last week's ISCO Championship, including 10 of the 13 players who finished T8 or better: Paul Peterson (2<sup>nd</sup>), Manuel Elvira (3<sup>rd</sup>), Vince Whaley (T4), David Skinns (T4), Patrick Fishburn (T6), Nick Hardy (T8), Chad Ramey (T8), Taylor Montgomery (T8), Ben Kohles (T8), Luke List (T8)

## **PGA TOUR** season notes:

- Following the Wyndham Championship (July 31–Aug. 3), the top 70 players in the FedExCup standings will earn a spot in the FedExCup Playoffs
  - There are six players in the Barracuda Championship field who rank between Nos. 60-80 in the FedExCup standings entering the week: Cam Davis (No. 62), Patrick Rodgers (No. 63), Emiliano Grillo (No. 66), Kevin Roy (No. 74), Ryo Hisatsune (No. 76), Erik van Rooyen (No. 80)
- Ten first-time winners in 2025: Thomas Detry (WM Phoenix Open), Brian Campbell (Mexico Open at VidantaWorld), Joe Highsmith (Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches), Karl Vilips (Puerto Rico Open), Min Woo Lee (Texas Children's Houston Open), Ben Griffin/Andrew Novak (Zurich Classic of New Orleans), Ryan Fox (ONEflight Myrtle Beach Classic), Aldrich Potgieter (Rocket Classic), William Mouw (ISCO Championship)
- Three PGA TOUR rookies have won this season: Karl Vilips (Puerto Rico Open), Aldrich Potgieter (Rocket Classic) and William Mouw (ISCO Championship)
- International players have won 16 of 32 events this season: Hideki Matsuyama/Japan, Nick Taylor/Canada, Sepp Straka/Austria/2, Rory McIlroy/Northern Ireland/3, Thomas Detry/Belgium, Ludvig Åberg/Sweden, Karl Vilips/Australia, Viktor Hovland/Norway, Min Woo Lee/Australia, Garrick Higgo/South Africa, Ryan Fox/New Zealand/2, Aldrich Potgieter/South Africa